2007-2018 Jeep Wrangler JK/U overview

Welcome to our comprehensive guide to the Jeep Wrangler JK or JKU from 2007-2018. Whether you're a Jeep enthusiast or simply interested in learning more about this iconic vehicle, this guide will provide you with an overview of the different models, engine options, transmission and transfer case choices, suspension systems, interior features, and the changes that were made throughout the years.


The Jeep Wrangler JK, also known as the JK Unlimited (JKU), is a compact SUV that was produced by Jeep from 2007 to 2018. It is the third generation of the Wrangler series and is known for its off-road capabilities, rugged design, and open-air driving experience.

Different Models

The Jeep Wrangler JK was available in several different models, including the Sport, Sahara, and Rubicon. The Sport model is the base trim level and offers a no-frills, back-to-basics experience. The Sahara model adds more creature comforts and is designed for those who want a balance between on-road comfort and off-road capability. The Rubicon model is the most off-road focused, with features such as heavy-duty axles, locking differentials, and an electronically disconnecting sway bar.

Engine Options

The Jeep Wrangler JK was offered with two engine options: a 3.6-liter Pentastar V6 engine and a 3.8-liter V6 engine. The 3.6-liter Pentastar V6 engine is more powerful and efficient, delivering 285 horsepower and 260 lb-ft of torque. The 3.8-liter V6 engine, on the other hand, produces 202 horsepower and 237 lb-ft of torque.

Transmission and Transfer Case

The Jeep Wrangler JK was available with two transmission options: a 6-speed manual transmission and a 5-speed automatic transmission. The 6-speed manual transmission offers a more engaging driving experience, while the 5-speed automatic transmission provides smooth and effortless shifts.

As for the transfer case, the Jeep Wrangler JK came with either a part-time 4WD system or a full-time 4WD system, depending on the model and trim level. The part-time 4WD system allows the driver to manually engage or disengage the front axle, while the full-time 4WD system provides constant power to all four wheels.


The Jeep Wrangler JK features a solid front axle and a five-link coil suspension system, which provides excellent off-road capability and a comfortable on-road ride. The Rubicon model comes with a more advanced Rock-Trac 4x4 system, which includes heavy-duty front and rear axles, electronic locking differentials, and a 4:1 low-range transfer case for enhanced off-road performance.


The interior of the Jeep Wrangler JK is designed to be rugged and functional. It features durable materials and washable surfaces, making it easy to clean after a muddy off-road adventure. The JKU model offers more space with its four-door configuration, making it a practical choice for those who need extra cargo room or rear passenger seating.

Changes from 2007-2018

Throughout its production run from 2007 to 2018, the Jeep Wrangler JK underwent several changes and updates. In 2011, the interior was redesigned, offering improved ergonomics and better quality materials. In 2012, the 3.8-liter V6 engine was replaced with the more powerful and efficient 3.6-liter Pentastar V6 engine. In 2018, the JK model was discontinued and replaced by the Jeep Wrangler JL.

In conclusion, the Jeep Wrangler JK or JKU from 2007-2018 is a versatile and capable vehicle that offers a unique driving experience both on and off the road. Whether you're a weekend warrior or a hardcore off-roader, the Wrangler JK has something to offer. We hope this guide has provided you with valuable insights into the different models, engine options, transmission and transfer case choices, suspension systems, interior features, and the changes that were made throughout the years.

Previous Post